Virginia Medical Cannabis Certification
Hey Virginia! Medical Cannabis Laws Change on 7/1/22.
Now get medical cannabis without a registration card.
Follow these simple steps:
Obtain written certification from a Board of Pharmacy registered practitioner
Find your local Beyond/Hello Medical Cannabis Dispensary
Do you suffer any diagnosed medical condition? Simply contact and obtain written certification from a Board of Pharmacy registered practitioner.
Visit your local Beyond / Hello dispensary. Don’t forget to bring your written certification and photo ID.
Save time and book a consultation with one of our pharmacists in advance.
To be eligible to purchase products at our dispensary you must bring all of the following to your visit:
- Physician provided certification form
- A valid photo ID (driver license/military ID)
Virginia Medical Cannabis FAQs
Virginia legalized medical cannabis. Patients with a written certification from a licensed physician are able to obtain medical cannabis from a dispensary in Virginia. The patient must register with a state-licensed dispensary who will provide the patient with medical cannabis. Virginia does not allow for the sale of recreational cannabis.
The requirement for patient registration was abolished on July 1, 2022, as a result of HB 933/SB 671 (however, patients can still receive a medical card if interested). Patients will be able to shop at Virginia dispensaries once they have received written certification from a qualified practitioner.
No, effective July 1, 2022, a medical cannabis card is no longer required; instead, an unexpired valid written certification from a Board of Pharmacy-registered practitioner is required. Because only medical cannabis, not recreational cannabis, is allowed in Virginia, one must still produce verification that they are a medical cannabis patient in order to receive medicinal cannabis.
Yes, there is a list of practitioners who will make medical cannabis recommendations in Virginia. You can find this information on the website of the Virginia Board of Medicine. Here, you can search for licensed physicians by name or specialty.
The written certification for medical cannabis can only be issued by qualified practitioners. Ask your doctor if they are aware of the medical cannabis program.
No, doctors cannot “prescribe” medical cannabis in the United States, although they can recommend it. Practitioners in Virginia offer written certifications rather than prescriptions.
A patient, parent, legal guardian or registered agent may possess medical cannabis as defined in § 54.1-3408.3 of the Code of Virginia who has been issued a valid written certification from a Board of Pharmacy-registered practitioner and who maintains a current registration with the Board of Pharmacy.
Yes, medical cannabis dispensaries are open in Virginia. In fact, Virginia is one of the most recent states to legalize medical cannabis, with dispensaries opening in 2019. Patients with a variety of qualifying conditions can now purchase medical cannabis products from state-licensed dispensaries.
“A 90-day supply,” as it’s known. The pharmacist, in conjunction with the patient, makes the final decision. Per 30 days, 4 ounces of botanical cannabis (flower).
If you are visiting a dispensary in Virginia, you should do the following:
- Pre-register with the dispensaries at which you plan to shop to reduce patient wait times. Bring a valid government-issued ID card.
- Bring a printed copy of the unexpired written certification
- Only patients and registered agents may enter the dispensary. Children, spouses, and aids are not permitted unless they are registered.
Unfortunately, no. Since cannabis is not legal in Virginia recreationally for sale, but only medically, only VA residents with a written certification can purchase from a VA dispensary. In order to be considered eligible as a medical cannabis patient in Virginia, one of the requirements is that you must be a resident of the state. Out of state medical cards are not recognized in the state of Virginia.
No. It is not legal to import or transport cannabis across state lines.
Yes, medical cannabis may be dispensed to minor patients. However, any practitioner intending to treat a minor patient with botanical cannabis must authorize such use on the written certification form.
Yes, to purchase cannabis under Virginia law, we are required to ensure that patrons are 21+ and have valid state-issued identification (driver’s license, passport, state ID, etc.).
The Board of Pharmacy will email the practitioner a link to the written certification form once the board issues the practitioner registration. The written certification may be signed either with an authentic electronic signature or a manual “wet” signature by the practitioner.
Yes, provided that the use of telemedicine includes the delivery of patient care through real-time interactive audio-visual technology.
Typical fees start at $80 for initial cannabis written certifications and start at $50 for renewals.
Virginia allows any medical condition to qualify for medical cannabis treatment. Once you receive your physician recommendation for medical cannabis, you can receive safe and legal access to cannabis products, such as flower, concentrates, tinctures, edibles, and more from your local medical cannabis dispensary location.
- Online bookings
- Virtual online video visits
- Discounted rates for renewals, veterans, Medicaid, hospice patients, and SSDI
- 24/7 availability
- Education, guidance and follow-up support
- Board-certified physicians
- Money back guarantee
- Mobile app
The Virginia HB 933/SB 671 law states that the possession, use, and distribution of cannabis is legal in the state of Virginia. However, there are still some restrictions in place. For example, it is still illegal to drive while under the influence of cannabis. Additionally, employers are still able to set their own policies in regards to cannabis use by employees.
Patient registration will no longer be necessary on July 1, 2022, as a result of HB 933/SB 671.
While a patient, parent, or legal guardian will no longer be required to register with the Board as of July 1, 2022, a $50 registration card for medicinal cannabis will be available. Submit the online application, $50 application fee, a copy of the Written Certification for the Use of Medical Cannabis, and evidence of age, identity, and residency to the Board to receive the optional card. A comprehensive application will take about 60 business days to process. Applications with missing or incorrect information will not be processed. A tangible medical cannabis registration card will be mailed to the patient, parent, or legal guardian’s address of record on the application once the registration has been issued. Here is the link to the online application.
* This is general information relating to qualifying as a medical patient, for the specific qualifying process and criteria a prospective patient should contact their applicable state regulator.