VIRGINIA FAQ

Are you open yet? 

We anticipate opening for business in late 2019 or early 2020.

Where is your medical cannabis dispensary located?

Manassas, Virginia.  While there is only one location in Northern Virginia, we will offer delivery once we are open.

Are you only open for medical cannabis sales in Virginia?  Or do you also sell cannabis products for adult use, also known as recreational?

No, the law in Virginia currently only provides for the sale of medical cannabis for the treatment of any condition as determined by a registered physician. 

What type of medical cannabis is available in Virginia?

Medical cannabis products made from CBD oil and THC-A oil are allowed in Virginia.   

“Cannabidiol oil" means any formulation of processed Cannabis plant extract that contains at least 15 percent cannabidiol but no more than five percent tetrahydrocannabinol, or a dilution of the resin of the Cannabis plant that contains at least five milligrams of cannabidiol per dose but not more than five percent tetrahydrocannabinol. "Cannabidiol oil" does not include industrial hemp, as defined in § 3.2-4112, that is grown, dealt, or processed in compliance with state or federal law.

"THC-A oil" means any formulation of processed Cannabis plant extract that contains at least 15 percent tetrahydrocannabinol acid but not more than five percent tetrahydrocannabinol, or a dilution of the resin of the Cannabis plant that contains at least five milligrams of tetrahydrocannabinol acid per dose but not more than five percent tetrahydrocannabinol.

Who can use medical cannabis in Virginia?

Anyone with a diagnosed condition or disease determined who may benefit from its use as determined by a Virginia practitioner (doctor, osteopath, nurse practitioner).

Who can prescribe medical cannabis?Can my doctor prescribe it?What is a practitioner?

A practitioner of medicine or osteopathy licensed by the Board of Medicine, a physician assistant licensed by the Board of Medicine, or a nurse practitioner jointly licensed by the Board of Medicine and the Board of Nursing may issue written certifications for the use of medical cannabis.

How does it work?  How can I access medical cannabis for my condition?

1.     Get a valid written certification from a practitioner (doctor, osteopath, physician assistant, nurse practitioner) registered with the Board of Pharmacy to prescribe medical cannabis.

2.     Register as a patient with the Board of Pharmacy.  If the patient is a minor or incapacitated, the patient’s parent or guardian must register for them.

3.     Visit our Manassas dispensary for an initial consultation with one of our trained pharmacists. 

4.     After that initial visit, you are eligible to have your medical cannabis delivered to you.

§ 54.1-3408.3. Certification for use of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil for treatment.

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-3408.3/

 

Where can I get more information on the medical cannabis program in Virginia?

§ 54.1-3408.3. Certification for use of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil for treatment.

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-3408.3/

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/pharmacy/PharmaceuticalProcessing/Patients.htm

https://www.vanorml.org/faqs

What do I need to bring to the dispensary?

Valid driver’s license or other form of state-issued identification along with the written certification from your practitioner authorizing your use of medical cannabis. 

How can I pay for medical cannabis?

Unfortunately, you must pay by cash at this time, due to federal banking restrictions.  We hope and expect that this will change in the near future.

Where are your prices?

Our prices are not available right now.  Please visit us again, as we hope to have our product menu finalized soon. 

Does insurance cover medical cannabis?

No, insurance does not yet cover medical cannabis due to the federal prohibition still in effect for medical cannabis.

Does Beyond/Hello offer a cannabis delivery service?

Yes.  After your initial visit and consultation, you will be eligible for our delivery service. Please come visit our website again and we will have more details about our delivery service.

Where do your cannabis products come from?

100% of our medical cannabis products are grown and produced onsite in our Northern Virginia manufacturing facility. 

How do I know your medical cannabis products are safe?

Beyond/Hello is a pharmaceutical manufacturing processor and all medical cannabis processors in the Commonwealth of Virginia are strictly monitored by the Virginia Board of Pharmacy.  This is no different than going to your local pharmacy to fill your prescription. 

Can I sample the product in your dispensary?

As a medical cannabis provider, we operate under very strict guidelines and are very similar to a traditional pharmacy, so you are not allowed to sample the medicine at this time.  One of our pharmacists is there to assist you on an ongoing basis during your treatment and find you the medicine and dosage that is right for your condition. 

 

FAQ’s FROM THE VIRGINIA BOARD OF PHARMACY WEBSITE: https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/pharmacy/PharmaceuticalProcessing/FAQ.htm

Patients, Parents, or Legal Guardians

Q:  Who is eligible for obtaining cannabidiol (CBD) oil and THC-A oil?

A:  Currently, the law restricts the use of either oil to a Board of Pharmacy-registered patient or, if such patient is a minor or an incapacitated adult as defined in 18.2-369, such patient’s parent or guardian for treatment or to alleviate the symptoms of any diagnosed condition or disease determined by the practitioner to benefit from such use.

Q:  Does the law provide for an affirmative defense for possession of CBD oil or THC-A oil?

A:  Yes. 18.2-250.1(C) states, “In any prosecution under this section involving marijuana in the form of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil as those terms are defined in § 54.1-3408.3, it shall be an affirmative defense that the individual possessed such oil pursuant to a valid written certification issued by a practitioner in the course of his professional practice pursuant to § 54.1-3408.3 for treatment or to alleviate the symptoms of (i) the individual’s diagnosed condition or disease or (ii) if such individual is the parent or legal guardian of a minor or of an incapacitated adult as defined in § 18.2-369, such minor’s or incapacitated adult’s diagnosed condition or disease. If the individual files the valid written certification with the court at least 10 days prior to trial and causes a copy of such written certification to be delivered to the attorney for the Commonwealth, such written certification shall be prima facie evidence that such oil was possessed pursuant to a valid written certification."

Q:  What other conditions must be met to assert the affirmative defense?

A:  In addition to being issued a valid written certification from a Board of Pharmacy-registered practitioner, the patient and, if such patient is a minor or an incapacitated adult as defined in 18.2-369, such patient’s parent or guardian, must obtain registration from the Board of Pharmacy.  The written certification alone does not satisfy the conditions for asserting an affirmative defense for possessing CBD or THC-A oil.

Q:  When may a patient, parent, and legal guardian apply for board registration? 

Patients, parents, and legal guardians may now apply to obtain registration from the Board of Pharmacy.  A patient, parent, or legal guardian must have a written certification issued to them by a practitioner prior to applying for registration with the Board of Pharmacy and possessing the oils.

Q:  What is the registration fee for a patient?

A:  The initial registration fee is $50 and the annual renewal fee is $50.

Q:  What is the registration fee for a parent or guardian?

A:  The initial registration fee is $25 and the annual renewal fee is $25.

Q:  If the patient is a minor or an incapacitated adult as defined in 18.2-369, who must obtain board registration?

A:  The parent or legal guardian must apply for board registration for both the patient and for himself or herself as the parent or legal guardian. 

Q:  Must each parent or legal guardian be issued a written certification by the practitioner?

A:  Each parent or legal guardian who intends to possess the oils must be issued a written certification in his or her name.  Additionally, each parent or legal guardian issued a written certification must obtain board registration in order to possess the oils.

Q:  Is CBD or THC-A oil currently available to obtain from a pharmaceutical processor located in Virginia?

A:  No.  The Board awarded conditional approval to up to 5 pharmaceutical processors in December 2018.  It is anticipated they will become operational by December 2019.  It will take approximately 4-6 months to cultivate, produce, and test the products prior to dispensing. 

 Practitioners

Q:  Who is eligible for obtaining cannabidiol (CBD) oil and THC-A oil?

A:  Currently, the law restricts the use of either oil to a Board of Pharmacy-registered patient or, if such patient is a minor or an incapacitated adult as defined in 18.2-369, such patient’s parent or guardian for treatment or to alleviate the symptoms of any diagnosed condition or disease determined by the practitioner to benefit from such use.

Q: What practitioners are eligible to obtain board registration for issuing a written certification for recommending the use of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil?

A: A practitioner of medicine or osteopathy licensed by the Board of Medicine, and as of July 1, 2019,  a physician assistant licensed by the Board of Medicine, or a nurse practitioner jointly licensed by the Board of Medicine and the Board of Nursing.

Q:  Does the law provide for an affirmative defense for possession of CBD oil or THC-A oil?

A:  Yes. 18.2-250.1(C) states, “In any prosecution under this section involving marijuana in the form of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil as those terms are defined in § 54.1-3408.3, it shall be an affirmative defense that the individual possessed such oil pursuant to a valid written certification issued by a practitioner in the course of his professional practice pursuant to § 54.1-3408.3 for treatment or to alleviate the symptoms of (i) the individual’s diagnosed condition or disease or (ii) if such individual is the parent or legal guardian of a minor or of an incapacitated adult as defined in § 18.2-369, such minor’s or incapacitated adult’s diagnosed condition or disease. If the individual files the valid written certification with the court at least 10 days prior to trial and causes a copy of such written certification to be delivered to the attorney for the Commonwealth, such written certification shall be prima facie evidence that such oil was possessed pursuant to a valid written certification."

Q:  What other conditions must be met to assert the affirmative defense?

A:  In addition to being issued a valid written certification from a Board of Pharmacy-registered practitioner, the patient and, if such patient is a minor or an incapacitated adult as defined in 18.2-369, such patient’s parent or guardian, must obtain registration from the Board of Pharmacy.  The written certification alone does not satisfy the conditions for asserting an affirmative defense for possessing CBD or THC-A oil.

Q:  Must a practitioner obtain Board of Pharmacy registration prior to or continuing to issue a written certification for a patient to posess  cannabidiol (CBD) oil or THC-A oil? 

A: Yes, before a practitioner can issue or continue issuing written certifications, he or she must register with the Board of Pharmacy. Learn More about practitioner registration.

Q:  What is the registration fee for a practitioner?

A:  The initial registration fee is $50 and the annual renewal fee is $50.

Q:  May a practitioner issue a prescription for the oil? 

A:  No.  A written certificate must be issued.

Q:  Where may a practitioner locate the written certification form?

A:The Board of Pharmacy will email the practitioner a link to the written certification form once the board issues the practitioner registration. Please allow 7-10 days for processing the registration application and receiving the email with the link to the written certification.

 

 

 

Scroll to Top